Lumberjerk's Log

New kids on the block

Lumberjerk's Log

Postby lumberjerk » Mon Dec 06, 2010 10:52 pm

INTRO
I'm a beginner to weight training, just starting SS in August. I kept a Starting Strength log as 3PU which can be found here:
http://startingstrength.com/resources/forum/showthread.php?t=18289
I am really pleased with my progress. I intend to return to SS when I'm able. There are a few things keeping me from doing it properly: can't do my presses out in the snow and ceiling is too low to do them inside, and I have severe tendinitis in my left wrist which was preventing me from progressing in the cleans. I'm building a garage at the moment and I'll be putting a rack in there so by January I should be able to get back to Presses.
I've decided to try the Greyskull LP because I really like the looks of it. I'll have to swap the Presses for Incline benching. I intend to do 24 sessions of this program. I also have to modify the pullup portion because I still can't do them. I've added in some recommended exercises that will help me get there. The wrist tendinitis and the lack of a proper station have hindered my progressing with them.

STATS
Height: 6'
Weight 234lbs
bf%: approx. 27.8%

GOALS
-short term reasonable strength goals: 315 squat, 405 deadlift, 225 bench for reps of 5
-total over 1000
-bodyfat at 15%
-muscular enough not to be destroyed if thrown from my horse
-still able to do epic mtb rides
-most important:useful strength for around the farm
-improve grip strength
-do pullups

December 6, 2010
CONDITIONING
-haul out hay bales for horses, spread in field
-power out this am, fill buckets from stream and farmer's walk back to barn
-filled cans with diesel, load in truck, climb ladder and pour into tank.
-splashed diesel out of can while lazy-loading into truck and got a face and mouth full of gas
-in evening, fill tub with water drag on sled down to barn
-brought in 2 loads of firewood

WARMUP
stretching shoulders

SESSION #1
SQUAT
45 (2,2)
100 (5)